advertisement
Birds News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Watch out for 'Feather Duvet Lung' Caution Doctors

Watch out for 'feather duvet lung' doctors have warned after treating a middle aged man with severe lung inflammation that developed soon after he bought feather-filled ... read more
In ancient Egypt, sacred ibises were collected from their natural habitats to be ritually sacrificed, according to a ... read more

First Evidence of Feathered Polar Dinosaurs Found in Australia

A cache of 118 million-year-old fossilized dinosaur and bird feathers has been recovered from an ancient lake deposit that once lay beyond the southern polar ... read more

Implanted Memories Teach Birds a Song

A new songbird study that shows memories can be implanted in the brain to teach vocalizations -- without any lessons from the ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:22am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Record-Size Sex Chromosome Found in Two Bird Species

Researchers have discovered the largest known avian sex chromosome. The giant chromosome was created when four chromosomes fused together into one, and has been found in two species of ... read more

Dog and Sheep Bones Help Injured Pigeons Fly Again

Sheep and dog bones can be whittled into orthopedic pins that stabilize pigeons' fractured wings, helping the fractures to heal properly without follow-up surgery. Researchers describe the ... read more

A Decade After the Predators Have Gone, Galapagos Island Finches Are Still Being Spooked

On some of the Galapagos Islands where human-introduced predators of Darwin's finches were eradicated over a decade ago, the finches are still acting as though they are in danger, according to ... read more

Impact of Climate Change on Arctic Terns

New study shows how changes in Antarctic sea ice is driving one of the world's smallest seabirds to forage further for ... read more

The Little Duck That Could: Study Finds Endangered Hawaiian Duck Endures

New research has found that the genetic diversity of the koloa is high, and conservation efforts on the island of Kauai have been ... read more

Jackdaw Mobs Flip from Chaos to Order as They Grow

Chaotic mobs of jackdaws suddenly get organized once enough birds join in, new research ... read more

Butterflies Take Different Paths to Arrive at Same Color Pattern

An international team of scientists working with Heliconius butterflies in Panama was faced with a mystery: how do pairs of unrelated butterflies from Peru to Costa Rica evolve nearly the same ... read more

Study Shows Link Between Health and Size of Social Group

A new study has found that crows living in large social groups are healthier than crows that have fewer social ... read more

Songbirds Sing Species-Specific Songs

The generation of species-specific singing in songbirds is associated with species-specific patterns of gene activity in brain regions called song nuclei, according to a new study. According to the ... read more

New Sphenisciform Fossil Further Resolves Bauplan of Extinct Giant Penguins

New Zealand is a key area for understanding the diversity of the extinct penguins and has even revealed the existence of 'giant' penguin species (larger than living penguins). A new study ... read more

Millions of Seabirds Rely on Discarded Fish

Millions of scavenging seabirds survive on fish discarded by North Sea fishing vessels, new research ... read more

Unless Warming Is Slowed, Emperor Penguins Will Be Marching Towards Extinction

Emperor penguins are some of the most striking and charismatic animals on Earth, but a new study has found that a warming climate may render them extinct by the end of this ... read more

Study Finds Sex Bias in Bird Conservation Plans

After pairing up and raising chicks, males and females of some bird species spend their winter break apart. At the end of their journey to Central or South America, you might find mostly males in one ... read more

Complex Society Discovered in Birds

The first existence of a multilevel society in a non-mammalian animal shows that large brains are not a requirement for complex ... read more

This AI Birdwatcher Lets You 'See' Through the Eyes of a Machine

It can take years of birdwatching experience to tell one species from the next. But using an artificial intelligence technique called deep learning, researchers have trained a computer to identify up ... read more

Dozens of Dinosaur Footprints Reveal Ancient Ecosystem of Alaskan Peninsula

Abundant dinosaur footprints in Alaska reveal that high-latitude hadrosaurs preferred tidally influenced ... read more

In Southeast Asia, Illegal Hunting Is a More Threat to Wildlife Than Forest Degradation

A new study suggests that for ground dwelling mammal and bird communities, illegal hunting using indiscriminate snares may be a more immediate threat than forest degradation through selective ... read more

Genetic History of Endangered Australian Songbird Could Inspire an Encore

The genetic history of a critically endangered songbird shows its best chance of survival is to protect its rapidly disappearing habitat. Researchers used DNA samples from museums around the world, ... read more

Bird Bacteria Is Key to Communication and Mating

Birds use odor to identify other birds, and researchers have shown that if the bacteria that produce the odor is altered, it could negatively impact a bird's ability to communicate with other ... read more

Migratory Birds Are Worse Off in West Africa

Migratory sandpipers breeding in Greenland who choose to spend the winter in West Africa instead of elsewhere along the East Atlantic coast have a lower chance of survival, are more likely to skip ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019