advertisement
Endangered Animals News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Since pre-industrial times, the world's oceans have warmed by an average of one degree Celsius (1°C). Now researchers report that those rising temperatures have led to ... read more
A parasite known only to be hosted in North America by the Virginia opossum is infecting sea otters along the West Coast. A ... read more

Unraveling the Puzzle of Madagascar's Forest Cats

Biologists have long wondered where Madagascar's mysterious wild cats came from. Now, new genetic evidence delivers an ... read more
A new study should sound alarm bells regarding the 'biodiversity crisis' or the loss of wildlife around ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:22am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Sea Turtles Have a Deadly Attraction to Stinky Plastic

Sea turtles around the world are threatened by marine plastic debris, mostly through ingestion and entanglement. Now, researchers have new evidence to explain why all that plastic is so dangerous for ... read more

Endangered Species on Supermarket Shelves

Imagine purchasing products from your local grocer, only to find out that those products are comprised of critically endangered species! That's what a team has recently discovered on Hong Kong ... read more

Sea Level Rise Impacts to Canaveral Sea Turtle Nests Will Be Substantial

The study examined loggerhead and green sea turtle nests to predict beach habitat loss at four national seashores by the year 2100. When comparing nesting density with beach loss at the sites, they ... read more

Apes' Inner Ears Could Hide Clues to Evolutionary History of Hominoids

Studying the inner ear of apes and humans could uncover new information on our species' evolutionary relationships, suggests a new ... read more

Directed Species Loss from Species-Rich Forests Strongly Decreases Productivity

At high species richness, directed loss, but not random loss, of tree species strongly decreases forest productivity. This is shown by data from a big forest project in China. Previous studies based ... read more

Federally Protected Lands Reduce Habitat Loss and Protect Endangered Species

Using more than 30 years of earth satellite images, scientists at have discovered that habitat loss for imperiled species in the US over this period was more than twice as great on non-protected ... read more

Paleontologists Discover Why the Oceans Are So Diverse

Slow, steady evolution in animal groups that contain many different ecological lifestyles has been a key buffer against extinction, the new research ... read more

Monogamous Female Sea Turtles? Yes, Thanks to Sperm Storage

Female sea turtles mate multiply to ensure fertilization. A study of nesting loggerhead female sea turtles in southwest Florida used genotyping to uncover how many fathers were represented in their ... read more

Shrinking Sea Ice Is Creating an Ecological Trap for Polar Bears

The decision of each individual bear to stay on the ice or to move to land appears to be linked to the energetic cost or benefit of either option, and the potential of having to swim to reach ... read more

When It Comes to Conservation, Ditch the 'Canary in the Coal Mine'

With habitat loss threatening the extinction of an ever-growing number of species around the world, many wildlife advocates and conservation professionals rely on the proverbial 'canary in the ... read more

Lava Flows Tell 600-Year Story of Biodiversity Loss on a Tropical Island

A natural experiment created by an active volcano gives new insight into the long-term negative impacts of human colonization of tropical forest ... read more

Camera Trap Study Captures Sumatran Tigers, Clouded Leopards, Other Rare Beasts

Scientists deployed motion-sensitive camera traps across a 50-square-mile swath of Bukit Barisan Selatan National Park in southern Sumatra and, over the course of eight years, recorded the haunts and ... read more

Threatened Birds and Mammals Have Irreplaceable Roles in the Natural World

A new study has shown that threatened birds and mammals are often ecologically distinct and irreplaceable in their ... read more

A Plan to Save Earth's Oceans

At least 26 per cent of our oceans need urgent conservation attention to preserve Earth's marine biodiversity, a new study has found. Experts have said the international community needed to ... read more

Frozen Bird Turns out to Be 46,000-Year-Old Horned Lark

Scientists have recovered DNA from a well-preserved horned lark found in Siberian permafrost. The results can contribute to explaining the evolution of sub species, as well as how the mammoth steppe ... read more

A Better Pregnancy Test for Whales

To determine whale pregnancy, researchers have relied on visual cues or hormone tests of blubber collected via darts, but the results were often inconclusive. Research points to a weakness of ... read more

Improving Assessments of an Endangered Lion Population in India

An alternative method for monitoring endangered lions in India could improve estimates of their abundance and help inform conservation policy and management ... read more

Rare Bats in Decline

A study led by Susan Tsang, a former Fulbright Research Fellow from The City College of New York, reveals dwindling populations and widespread hunting throughout Indonesia and the Philippines of the ... read more

I Spy With My Digital Eye ... a Tiger's Breathing, a Lion's Pulse

Scientists have developed a new way to undertake basic health checks of exotic wildlife using a digital camera, saving them the stress of an ... read more

One-Third of Plant and Animal Species Could Be Gone in 50 Years

Researchers studied recent extinctions from climate change to estimate the loss of plant and animal species by 2070. Their results suggest that as many as one in three species could face extinction ... read more

Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019