advertisement
Extinction News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Biodiversity across the globe could be in a worse state than previously thought, as assessments fail to account for long-lasting impact of land change, a new study ... read more
Researchers have succeeded in reconstructing the evolutionary relationship between a two million year old giant primate and the living orangutan. It is the first time genetic ... read more

Miniature Fanged 'Deer' Rediscovered Tiptoeing Through Vietnam's Coastal Forests

Biologists have rediscovered a species lost to science since 1990 called a silver-backed chevrotain -- a deer-like species that is the size of a ... read more
Based on research at White Pond near Elgin, South Carolina, archaeologists present new evidence of a controversial theory that suggests an extraterrestrial body crashing to ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:52am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

When Reefs Die, Parrotfish Thrive

In contrast to most other species, reef-dwelling parrotfish populations boom in the wake of severe coral bleaching. The surprise finding came when researchers looked at fish populations in severely ... read more

Sounds of the Past Give New Hope for Coral Reef Restoration

Young fish can be drawn to degraded coral reefs by loudspeakers playing the sounds of healthy reefs, according to new ... read more

Operational Mapping System for High-Resolution Tropical Forest Carbon Emissions

For the first time, scientists have developed a method to monitor carbon emissions from tropical forests at an unprecedented level of detail. The approach will provide the basis for developing a ... read more

Shrewd Savannah Species Choose Friends With Benefits on the African Plains

For species trying to boost their chances of avoiding predation, it could be a classic case of 'it's not what you know, it's who you know that matters,' according to new ... read more

Nearly 40% of Plant Species Are Very Rare and Are Vulnerable to Climate Change

Almost 40 percent of global flora is categorized as 'exceedingly rare,' and these species are most at risk of extinction by human development and as the climate continues to change, ... read more

Did Human Hunting Activities Alone Drive Great Auks' Extinction?

New insight on the extinction history of a flightless seabird that vanished from the shores of the North Atlantic during the 19th century has been published ... read more

People, Climate, and Water Played a Role in the Extinction of Australia's Megafauna

For the first time, the research suggests a combination of climate change and the impact of people sealed the fate of megafauna, at least in south-eastern Australia. And that distribution of ... read more

Unravelling the Venomous Bite of an Endangered Mammal

Highly similar venom toxins found in shrews and endangered Caribbean mammals, despite common ancestor over 70 million years ... read more

A Monkey's Balancing Act

Endangered monkeys living in the wild are intelligently adapting their lifestyle to fit with their human neighbors, learning to avoid manmade risks and exploiting increased contact with people, new ... read more

Almost a Third of Tropical Africa's Flora Faces Extinction

31.7% of tropical Africa's vascular plant species could be threatened with extinction, reveals an international study. Using a new approach based on the key elements of the assessment process ... read more

A Century Later, Plant Biodiversity Struggles in Wake of Agricultural Abandonment

Decades after farmland was abandoned, plant biodiversity and productivity struggle to recover, according to new ... read more

Saving 'Half Earth' for Nature Would Affect Over a Billion People

Plans to save biodiversity must take into account the social impacts of conservation if they are to succeed, say ... read more

The Little Duck That Could: Study Finds Endangered Hawaiian Duck Endures

New research has found that the genetic diversity of the koloa is high, and conservation efforts on the island of Kauai have been ... read more

Researchers Explore How Citizens Can Become Agents of Environmental Change

Some programs work better than others when it comes to involving citizens in preserving the environment. After reviewing those that worked, researchers propose a blueprint for how others can educate ... read more

Healthy mangroves can help fight the consequences of climate change on coral reef fisheries, according to a new study. Researchers say corals have been bleached and reefs have lost their structural ... read more

Applying Biodiversity Conservation Research in Practice

One million species are threatened with extinction, many of them already in the coming decades. This unprecedented loss of biodiversity threatens valuable ecosystems and human well-being. But what is ... read more

Gimme Shelter: Seven New Leech Species Call Freshwater Mussels Home

The frequent presence of leeches with a hidden lifestyle in the mantle cavity of freshwater mussels has been recorded since the second half of the 19th century. Yet this was, until now, regarded as ... read more

Conservation Scientists Call for Reverse to Biodiversity Loss

A group of international conservationists is urging governments across the globe to adopt a new approach to address the impact of economic development on the natural world. Scientists, aim to draw ... read more

Unless Warming Is Slowed, Emperor Penguins Will Be Marching Towards Extinction

Emperor penguins are some of the most striking and charismatic animals on Earth, but a new study has found that a warming climate may render them extinct by the end of this ... read more

Scientist Sheds Light on Complexity of Biodiversity Loss

Species richness -- the number of different species in a given ecological community -- is not the only, nor necessarily the best, way to measure biodiversity impacts on ... read more

Monday, December 2, 2019
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019