advertisement
Genetically Modified News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

The evolution of dietary and hygienic habits in Western countries is associated with a decrease in the bacteria that help in digestion. These very bacteria were also found in ... read more

Harnessing Tomato Jumping Genes Could Help Speed-Breed Drought-Resistant Crops

Once dismissed as 'junk DNA' that served no purpose, a family of 'jumping genes' found in tomatoes has the potential to accelerate crop breeding for ... read more

New Way to Test for Drug Resistant Infections

Scientists have modified an antibiotic from the beta-lactam family so that it can be attached to a sensor, enabling them to detect the presence of bacteria resistant to ... read more

Bacteria Made to Mimic Cells, Form Communities

Scientists have found a way to make single-celled bacteria behave like stem cells, differentiating into genetically unique individuals as they ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:52am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

RNA Modification: Methylation and Mopping Up

Researchers have discovered a novel type of chemical modification in bacterial RNAs. The modification is apparently attached to molecules only when cells are under stress, and is rapidly removed ... read more

Genetics May Determine Who Benefits from Broccoli's Effects on Kidney Health

Deletion of the gene that codes for an enzyme called GSTM1 increased kidney injury in mice with hypertension and kidney disease, but supplementing the diet with broccoli powder lessened kidney injury ... read more

Non-GM Produce Earns 'Halo Effect' Under New Labeling Laws

Consumers were more willing to buy unlabeled produce after being shown food tagged as ''genetically modified'' in a new study that comes two months before a new federal law, ... read more

Red Algae Thrive Despite Ancestor's Massive Loss of Genes

You'd think that losing 25 percent of your genes would be a big problem for survival. But not for red algae, including the seaweed used to wrap sushi. An ancestor of red algae lost about a ... read more

Immune Response to Influenza

New research provides insights into how the body can protect itself from immunopathology during ... read more

Mapping Millet Genetics

In the semi-arid tropics of Asia and Africa, conditions can be difficult for crops. Plants need to have short growing seasons, survive on poor soils and tolerate environmental stresses. Enter, the ... read more

Researchers Quantify Cas9-Caused Off-Target Mutagenesis in Mice

Scientists are finding new ways to improve the use of the CRISPR enzyme Cas9 and reduce the chances of off-target mutations in laboratory mice, according to new results. The findings will help ... read more

Protein That Triggers Plant Defences to Light Stress Identified

A newly discovered protein turns on plants' cellular defence to excessive light and other stress factors caused by a changing climate, according to a new ... read more

Cheap as Chips: Identifying Plant Genes to Ensure Food Security

Scientists have developed a new approach enabling researchers to more efficiently identify the genes that control plant traits. This method will enable plant breeders and scientists to develop more ... read more

Engineered Viruses Could Fight Drug Resistance

Biological engineers can program bacteriophages to kill different strains of E. coli by making mutations in the protein that the viruses use to bind to host cells. These engineered phages are less ... read more

New Method to Purify Cell Types to High Purity

Current biology research relies on the ability to purify cell types using antibodies or transgenic constructs. However, antibody availability is often limited, and genetic manipulation is labor ... read more

Engineered Protein Crystals Make Cells Magnetic

If scientists could give living cells magnetic properties, they could perhaps manipulate cellular activities with external magnetic fields. But previous attempts to magnetize cells by producing ... read more

CBD May Alleviate Seizures, Benefit Behaviors in People With Neurodevelopmental Conditions

A marijuana plant extract, also known as cannabidiol (CBD), is being commonly used to improve anxiety, sleep problems, pain, and many other neurological conditions. Now researchers show it may ... read more

Genetically Engineered Plasmid Can Be Used to Fight Antimicrobial Resistance

Researchers have engineered a plasmid to remove an antibiotic resistance gene from the Enterococcus faecalis bacterium, an accomplishment that could lead to new methods for combating antibiotic ... read more

Reconstructing the Evolution of All Species

By looking into fossil teeth from almost 2 million years old rhinos, researchers have launched a new molecular method for studying the evolutionary history of fossil species dating back millions of ... read more

Studying Vision in Pitch-Darkness Shines Light on How a Mammal's Brain Drives Behavior

By studying behavior of mice navigating a maze in near-complete darkness using infra-red cameras and deep-learning trained models, neuroscientists are able to interpret what neural signals mean to ... read more

Study of Bile Acids Links Individual's Genetics and Microbial Gut Community

Researchers have identified genetic variants in mice that impact the levels of different bile acids as well as the size of a specific population of microbes in the ... read more

Vaccine Against Deadly Superbug Klebsiella Effective in Mice

Researchers have developed a vaccine that is effective, in mice, against hypervirulent strains of Klebsiella that can cause life-threatening infections in healthy ... read more

The Making of 'Fancy Mouse'

For the past few hundred years, the colorful hair and unique patterns of the so-called 'Fancy Mouse' have made them the stars of pet shows in Japan and beyond. Now, scientists have finally ... read more

Helping Bacteria Be Better Friends

Bacteria, like people, have complicated relationships. A group of researchers was able to engineer the genomes of 4 species of gut bacteria to make them rely on each other for essential nutrients ... read more

Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018