advertisement
Genetically Modified News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Lifestyle Is a Threat to Gut Bacteria: Ötzi Proves It, Study Shows

The evolution of dietary and hygienic habits in Western countries is associated with a decrease in the bacteria that help in digestion. These very bacteria were also found in the Iceman, who lived ... read more

Harnessing Tomato Jumping Genes Could Help Speed-Breed Drought-Resistant Crops

Once dismissed as 'junk DNA' that served no purpose, a family of 'jumping genes' found in tomatoes has the potential to accelerate crop breeding for ... read more

New Way to Test for Drug Resistant Infections

Scientists have modified an antibiotic from the beta-lactam family so that it can be attached to a sensor, enabling them to detect the presence of bacteria resistant to ... read more

Bacteria Made to Mimic Cells, Form Communities

Scientists have found a way to make single-celled bacteria behave like stem cells, differentiating into genetically unique individuals as they ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:52pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Poplar Genetically Modified Not to Harm Air Quality Grow as Well as Non-Modified Trees

Field trials in Oregon and Arizona show that poplar trees, which emit trace amounts of the gas isoprene, can be genetically modified not to harm air quality while leaving their growth potential ... read more

Gene Drives Work Faster Than Non-Drive Approaches to Control Problem Insects

When controlling mosquitoes that spread malaria, gene drives, which force genetic changes to proliferate in a population, are faster and more efficient than simply releasing mosquitoes that are ... read more

Disruption of Glycine Receptors to Study Embryonic Development and Brain Function

Researchers are studying glycine receptors, particularly glycine receptor alpha-4 (Glra4), during development. They demonstrated, in a new study, that Glra4 is not a brain exclusive gene, as was ... read more

New Viral Strategy to Escape Detection

Researchers have discovered how viruses that specifically kill bacteria can outwit bacteria by hiding from their defences, findings which are important for the development of new antimicrobials based ... read more

RNA Modification: Methylation and Mopping Up

Researchers have discovered a novel type of chemical modification in bacterial RNAs. The modification is apparently attached to molecules only when cells are under stress, and is rapidly removed ... read more

New Marker for Insecticide Resistance in Malaria-Carrying Mosquitoes

Researchers have genetically modified malaria carrying mosquitoes in order to demonstrate the role of particular genes in conferring insecticide ... read more

Brewing Beer That Tastes Fresh Longer

Unlike wine, which generally improves with time, beer does not age well. Usually within a year of bottling, the beverage starts to develop an unpleasant papery or cardboard-like flavor that drinkers ... read more

Bad News for Nemo: Clownfish Can't Adapt to Rapid Environmental Changes

The beloved anemone fish popularized by the movies 'Finding Nemo' and 'Finding Dory' don't have the genetic capacity to adapt to rapid changes in their environment, according ... read more

Slowing Down -- Is Aging Caused by Decreased Cellular Metabolism?

Researchers have uncovered new information regarding the effects of impaired expression of the gene SHMT2 in genetically modified mice. They found that suppression of SHMT2 expression of SHMT2 ... read more

New Species of Seaweed Uncovered by Genetic Analyses

Genetic analyses have revealed remarkably higher species diversity in common red seaweed than previously assumed. It was thought that there were only five related species of the Gloiopeltis genus ... read more

Genetics May Determine Who Benefits from Broccoli's Effects on Kidney Health

Deletion of the gene that codes for an enzyme called GSTM1 increased kidney injury in mice with hypertension and kidney disease, but supplementing the diet with broccoli powder lessened kidney injury ... read more

Scientists Map Mouse Personality

Scientists have developed a computational method to objectively measure the personality of mice living in a semi-natural, group ... read more

New Possibilities for Gene Therapies With Spin of the Sleeping Beauty Transposase

Scientists have developed a new variant of the Sleeping Beauty transposase. It has dramatically improved biochemical features, including enhanced stability and intrinsic cell penetrating properties. ... read more

Synthetic Phages With Programmable Specificity

Researchers are using synthetic biology to reprogram bacterial viruses -- commonly known as bacteriophages -- to expand their natural host range. This technology paves the way for the therapeutic use ... read more

Non-GM Produce Earns 'Halo Effect' Under New Labeling Laws

Consumers were more willing to buy unlabeled produce after being shown food tagged as ''genetically modified'' in a new study that comes two months before a new federal law, ... read more

Detection Dogs and DNA on the Trail of Endangered Lizards

Detection dogs trained to sniff out the scat of an endangered lizard in California's San Joaquin Valley, combined with genetic species identification, could represent a new noninvasive sampling ... read more

Red Algae Thrive Despite Ancestor's Massive Loss of Genes

You'd think that losing 25 percent of your genes would be a big problem for survival. But not for red algae, including the seaweed used to wrap sushi. An ancestor of red algae lost about a ... read more

Immune Response to Influenza

New research provides insights into how the body can protect itself from immunopathology during ... read more

Mapping Millet Genetics

In the semi-arid tropics of Asia and Africa, conditions can be difficult for crops. Plants need to have short growing seasons, survive on poor soils and tolerate environmental stresses. Enter, the ... read more

Researchers Quantify Cas9-Caused Off-Target Mutagenesis in Mice

Scientists are finding new ways to improve the use of the CRISPR enzyme Cas9 and reduce the chances of off-target mutations in laboratory mice, according to new results. The findings will help ... read more

Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018