advertisement
Invasive Species News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A new study should sound alarm bells regarding the 'biodiversity crisis' or the loss of wildlife around ... read more
Plants that break some of the 'rules' of ecology by adapting in unconventional ways may have a higher chance of surviving climate change, according ... read more
New research calls for action to minimize the risk of the platypus vanishing due to habitat destruction, dams ... read more

Killer Whale Grandmothers Boost Survival of Calves

New research finds that killer whale grandmothers who were no longer able to reproduce had the biggest beneficial impact on the survival chances of their grand-offspring. This may be because ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:52pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Climate Warming Disrupts Tree Seed Production

Research has revealed the effect of climate warming on the complex interactions between tree masting and the insects that eat their ... read more

Taming Age Survival of Asian Elephants Three Times Higher Than in the 1970s

Researchers and veterinarians have investigated the trends behind Asian elephant calf mortality during the taming period. They found that calves that were younger at the onset of taming and those ... read more

Why the Goby Can Conquer the Waters of the World

The round goby, one of the most common invasive freshwater fish in the world, boasts a particularly robust immune system, which could be one of the reasons for its excellent ... read more

Scientists Warn Humanity About Worldwide Insect Decline

Insect declines and extinctions are accelerating in many parts of the world. With this comes the disappearance of irreplaceable services to humans, the consequences of which are unpredictable. A ... read more

El Niño Contributes to Insect Collapse in the Amazon

Hotter and drier El Niño events are having an alarming effect on biodiversity in the Amazon Rainforest and further add to a disturbing global insect collapse, scientists show. A new study focusing ... read more

Generalist Diet Helps Invasive Crayfish Thrive Where It's Introduced

An invasive species of crayfish that is taking over streams from Wisconsin to Maine might be successful because it's not a fussy eater, according to biologists. The rusty crayfish is native to ... read more

Trees in the Amazon Are Time Capsules of Human History, from Culture to Colonialism

The annals of human history have been recorded through text, art, and oral tradition. However, for hundreds of years tropical forests have also kept detailed records of the human activities that ... read more

Populations of white-lipped peccaries, a 'new world' pig-like species usually found throughout Central American tropical forests, are in freefall, new research ... read more

Asian Hornet Invasion Spreads to Northern Germany

Known to prey on many insects, including honey bees and other beneficiary species, the Asian hornet, which had recently invaded parts of Europe, presents a serious threat to apiculture and even to ... read more

Bumble Bees Prefer a Low-Fat Diet

Are bees dying of malnourishment? Researchers examine the interactions between plants and insects. Using behavioral experiments, the team analyzes how bumble bees evaluate the quality of food sources ... read more

New Thalattosaur Species Discovered in Southeast Alaska

Scientists have identified a new species of thalattosaur, a marine reptile that lived more than 200 million years ago. The new species, Gunakadeit joseeae, is the most complete thalattosaur ever ... read more

Scientists Listen to Whales, Walruses and Seals in a Changing Arctic Seascape

A year-round acoustic study of marine mammals in the northern Bering Sea is providing scientists with a valuable snapshot of an Arctic world already under drastic pressure from climate ... read more

Not-So-Dirty Birds? Not Enough Evidence to Link Wild Birds to Food-Borne Illness

Despite the perception that wild birds in farm fields can cause food-borne illness, a new study has found little evidence linking birds to E. coli, Salmonella and Campylobacter ... read more

Biological Diversity as a Factor of Production

Can the biodiversity of ecosystems be considered a factor of production? Researchers are studying the economic benefits that farmers and foresters can obtain by focusing on several species instead of ... read more

Prescribed Burns Benefit Bees

Freshly burned longleaf pine forests have more than double the total number of bees and bee species than similar forests that have not burned in over 50 years, according to new ... read more

Success and Failure of Ecological Management Is Highly Variable

What do we really know about reasons attributed to the success or failure of wildlife management efforts? A new study suggests a disquieting answer: much less than we think. A new study finds that ... read more

Helping Prevent Eco-Interventions from Backfiring

Drastic ecosystem interventions like eradicating an unwanted species can sometimes backfire, but new modelling may help to avoid these ecological hiccups. Despite all good intentions, ecological ... read more

Second of Its Kind 'Sharpshooter' Leafhopper from Brazil 'Strikes' With Its Coloration

When, in 2014, Brazilian researchers stumbled across a red-eyed leafhopper feeding inside bromeliads, growing in the restingas of southeastern Brazil, they were certain it was a one-of-a-kind ... read more

Prairie Plants Need Fiery Romance

In a new study, researchers found that prescribed, expert-controlled fires are critically important to successful reproduction in prairie plants. Fires cause prairie plants to flower at the same ... read more

Earth's Most Biodiverse Ecosystems Face a Perfect Storm

A combination of climate change, extreme weather and pressure from local human activity is causing a collapse in global biodiversity and ecosystems across the tropics, new research shows. The study ... read more

Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019