advertisement
New Species News
December 7, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New Fossil Pushes Back Physical Evidence of Insect Pollination to 99 Million Years Ago

Researchers have pushed back the first-known physical evidence of insect flower pollination to 99 million years ago, during the mid-Cretaceous ... read more

Otherworldly Worms With Three Sexes Discovered in Mono Lake

The extreme environment of Mono Lake was thought to only house two species of animals -- until ... read more

Mysterious Jurassic Crocodile Identified 250 Years After Fossil Find

A prehistoric crocodile that lived around 180 million years ago has been identified -- almost 250 years after the discovery of it fossil ... read more

Electric Eel Produces Highest Voltage Discharge of Any Known Animal

South American rivers are home to at least three different species of electric eels, including a newly identified species capable of generating a greater electrical discharge than any other known ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:22pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Woody Plants With Undesirable Tendencies

A weed is normally defined as a plant, native or non-native, that is not valued where it is growing. An invasive species is generally defined as a species that not only spreads geographically outside ... read more

Study Tracks Genomic Changes That Reinforce Darter Speciation

When they share habitat, orangethroat and rainbow darters tend to avoid one another, even though they are closely related and can produce 'hybrid' offspring. A new study offers an analysis ... read more

Almost a Third of Tropical Africa's Flora Faces Extinction

31.7% of tropical Africa's vascular plant species could be threatened with extinction, reveals an international study. Using a new approach based on the key elements of the assessment process ... read more

Mathematician Develops Model to Control Spread of Aquatic Invasive Species

Adjusting the water flow rate in a river can prevent invasive species from moving upstream and expanding their range. An applied mathematician has developed a partial differential equation model to ... read more

A Decade After the Predators Have Gone, Galapagos Island Finches Are Still Being Spooked

On some of the Galapagos Islands where human-introduced predators of Darwin's finches were eradicated over a decade ago, the finches are still acting as though they are in danger, according to ... read more

New Species of Seaweed Uncovered by Genetic Analyses

Genetic analyses have revealed remarkably higher species diversity in common red seaweed than previously assumed. It was thought that there were only five related species of the Gloiopeltis genus ... read more

Striking Variation in Mechanisms That Drive Sex Selection in Frogs

Researchers have discovered striking variation in the underlying genetic machinery that orchestrates sexual differentiation in frogs, demonstrating that evolution of this crucial biological system ... read more

Unlikely Wasp Enemy of a Serious Alien Pest in North America Named Idris Elba

Idris is a worldwide genus of microscopic, parasitic wasps. A new species of Idris from Mexico (Guanajuato) and the United States (California, New Mexico) proved to be an unlikely enemy of the ... read more

Spot the Difference: Two Identical-Looking Bird Species With Very Different Genes

While reports of species going extinct are sadly becoming common, an international team of scientists has identified a new species of bird living on the Southern coast of China, that diverged from ... read more

Ant Expert Discovers Newly Emergent Species in His Backyard

A global ant expert has traveled the world documenting and discovering ant species. But for his latest discovery, he didn't need to go any farther than his own ... read more

Songbirds Sing Species-Specific Songs

The generation of species-specific singing in songbirds is associated with species-specific patterns of gene activity in brain regions called song nuclei, according to a new study. According to the ... read more

Bats Don't Rely on Gut Bacteria the Way Humans Do

Just about all mammals, including humans, rely on a community of helpful bacteria living in our guts to help us digest food and fight off diseases. We've evolved along with these bacteria, to ... read more

Larger Than Life: Augmented Ants

The first app of its kind allows users to interact with biodiversity research through augmented ... read more

Evolutionary Diversity Is Associated With Amazon Forest Productivity

An international team of researchers have revealed for the first time that Amazon forests with the greatest evolutionary diversity are the most ... read more

Fossil Suggests Apes, Old World Monkeys Moved in Opposite Directions from Shared Ancestor

In terms of their body plan, Old World monkeys -- a group that includes primates like baboons and macaques -- are generally considered more similar to ancestral species than apes are. But a new study ... read more

Huge Gaps in Research on Microplastics in North America

Amid increasing concern about the effects of plastic pollution on marine ecosystems, a new study found that North America is lagging behind other continents when it comes to understanding the ... read more

Scientist Sheds Light on Complexity of Biodiversity Loss

Species richness -- the number of different species in a given ecological community -- is not the only, nor necessarily the best, way to measure biodiversity impacts on ... read more

Infectious Cancer in Mussels Spread Across the Atlantic

An infectious cancer that originated in 1 species of mussel growing in the Northern Hemisphere has spread to related mussels in South America and Europe, says a new ... read more

Best of Frenemies: Unexpected Role of Social Networks in Ecology

Social networking, even between competing species, plays a much bigger role in ecology than anyone previously thought, according to ... read more

Helping Hands from Within: Live-in Bacteria Protect Plants Against Infections

Micro-organisms living inside plant roots team up to boost the plant's growth and tolerance to ... read more

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019