advertisement
Economics News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Environmental Cost of Cryptocurrency Mines

Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and Monero -- the names of digital-based 'cryptocurrencies' are being heard more and more frequently. But despite having no physical representation, could these new ... read more

Lack of Reporting on Phosphorus Supply Chain Dangerous for Global Food Security

A new study shows that while Phosphorus is a key element to global food security, its supply chain is a black box. This can lead to social, political ... read more

The Case for Retreat in the Battle Against Climate Change

With sea level rise and extreme weather threatening coastal communities, it's no longer a question of whether they are going to retreat; it's where, when and how. In a new paper, researchers advocate ... read more

Nations With Strong Women's Rights Likely to Have Better Population Health and Faster Growth

Nations with strong women's rights are more likely to have better health and faster growth than those who don't promote and protect these ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:25pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Pilot Program Aims to Improve Reproducibility, Utility, and Ethics of Biomedical Research

Addressing the widespread concern over transparency and reproducibility in biomedical research, one of the largest institutions in science has begun to provide a framework, interventions, and ... read more

Good Connections Key to Startup Success

The future potential of early stage startups can be assessed by their existing professional relationships, research ... read more

New 'Umbrella' Species Would Massively Improve Conservation

The protection of Australia's threatened species could be improved by a factor of seven, if more efficient 'umbrella' species were prioritized for protection, according to new ... read more

Overuse of Herbicides Costing UK Economy £400 Million Per Year

Scientists have for the first time put an economic figure on the herbicidal resistance of a major agricultural weed that is decimating winter-wheat farms across the ... read more

Model Beats Wall Street Analysts in Forecasting Business Financials

Researchers describe a model for forecasting financials that uses only anonymized weekly credit card transactions and three-month earning reports. Tasked with predicting quarterly earnings of more ... read more

New Health Insurance Insights

Economists analyze how patients and health care providers value ... read more

Study Highlights High Cost of Fossil Fuel Pollution on Children's Health

A new study has compiled the estimated per-case costs of 6 childhood health conditions linked to air pollution -- estimates that can be incorporated into benefits assessments of air pollution ... read more

Tackling Air Pollution: Researchers Present Emissions Inventory for Nepal

Data on emission amounts and sources have an important role to play in shaping policy on climate protection and air quality. Now, scientists have presented the first high-resolution inventory to ... read more

Infant Morbidity Decreases With Incentive-Based Prenatal Tobacco Interventions

A new study reveals a significant reduction in NICU (up to 55%) and preterm births due to incentive-based programs implemented to help low-income pregnant women stop smoking cigarettes. Colorado ... read more

Tech Startups Gravitate Toward Cities With Strong Social Networks, Study Finds

The presence of technology startups can drive economic growth for their home cities. So how can cities better appeal to entrepreneurs? A new study shows the connections they can offer matter more ... read more

Most of America's National Parks Are Facing a Grave and Immediate Threat

More than half of America's national parks are facing a grave and immediate threat: the ongoing presence and spread of invasive animal species. The National Park Service has taken the first step ... read more

Creating the Conditions for a Globally Just Energy Transition

How can the energy transition be organized in a globally just way? Will developing countries struggle to transition to clean energy because they lack the financial and technical ... read more

Compliance With Paris Agreement Would Limit Loss of Productivity in Fishing, Agriculture

Scientists show that 90% of the global population may face decreases in productivity for both agriculture and fishing if greenhouse emissions are not reduced. On the other hand, most countries are in ... read more

Japanese Anime and Zoos Boost Public Interest in Conservation of Real-Life Animal Characters

Animated shows with animal characters -- specifically the Japanese anime Kemono Friends -- can increase public interest in real wildlife, including boosting donations to conservation programs at ... read more

Prayers Can Crowd out Donations for Disaster Victims

A new study finds that people who prayed for hurricane victims before donating gave less than they would have otherwise: Because those who prayed believed that prayers improved the victims' ... read more

Why Women Select College Majors With Lower Earnings Potential

Even when both male and female college students say they want to pursue a major with the best earnings prospects, the majors men choose are higher paying than the majors women ... read more

Study Offers First Large-Sample Evidence of the Effect of Ethics Training on Financial Sector

New research from Notre Dame offers the first large-sample study on how rules and ethics training affects behavior and employment decisions in the financial ... read more

Money Spent on Beer Ads Linked to Underage Drinking

Advertising budgets and strategies used by beer companies appear to influence underage drinking, according to new research. The findings show that the amount of money spent on advertising strongly ... read more

People in Counties With Worse Economies Are More Likely to Die from Heart Disease

Communities in the United States that experienced the most economic distress in the wake of the Great Recession saw a significant increase in death rates from heart disease and strokes among ... read more

US Economy to Expand, but at a Slower Pace, Reaching About 2% Growth in 2020

The US economy will continue to expand for a 12th consecutive year in 2020, but by only about 2% and struggling to remain at that level by year's end. Indiana's economic output will be more ... read more

Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019