advertisement
Educational Policy News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research comprehensively examined the brain development of young boys and girls. Their research shows no gender difference in brain function or ... read more

Better Sleep Habits Lead to Better College Grades

Two professors have found a strong relationship between students' grades and how much sleep they're getting. What time students go to bed and the consistency of their sleep habits also make a big ... read more

Kids in Poor, Urban Schools Learn Just as Much as Others

Schools serving disadvantaged and minority children teach as much to their students as those serving more advantaged kids, according to a new nationwide US study. Test scores speak more to what ... read more

Belief in Learning Styles Myth May Be Detrimental

Many people, including educators, believe learning styles are set at birth and predict both academic and career success even though there is no scientific evidence to support this common myth, ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:54am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Assistance During First Years of Biology Major Leads to Higher Retention of First-Gen Students

Assistance during the first years of a biology major leads to higher retention of first-generation ... read more

Family Support Reduces Chance of School and Workplace Bullying

Having a supportive family environment makes school-age LGB children in the UK significantly less likely to be victims of bullying, according to new ... read more

Quitting Facebook Could Boost Exam Results

In research that validates what many parents and educators suspect, students whose grades are below average could boost their exam results if they devoted less time to Facebook and other social ... read more

Are Students Getting Enough Air?

Roughly 85 percent of recently installed HVAC systems in K-12 classrooms investigated in California did not provide adequate ventilation, according to a new ... read more

Failure Prognosis: Data Science Predicts Which Failures Will Ultimately Succeed

Data science finds there is a critical threshold of lessons from failure that must be applied in order to achieve eventual ... read more

Paid Leave May Widen the Mommy Gap but Increase Time With Children

Many policymakers and scholars believe offering paid leave to families would be a game changer for US moms and families, leading to increased equity in labor markets and helping eliminate the ... read more

Schools Have Critical Role to Play in Supporting Adolescents Fleeing Armed Conflict

Education is known to be highly important for migrant children, yet relatively little is known about the diversity of associated school-based programs and their likely value in supporting the mental ... read more

Assigning Workers to New Networks Boosts Sustainability

Innovation comes from people in different units who have new knowledge, and a new study about conservation organizations suggests encouraging employees to think and act outside network boxes from ... read more

Irony and Humor Keep Teenage #gymlads Healthy on Social Media

Teenage boys rely on social media to access a wealth of information about living a healthy lifestyle -- but rather than being victims of online harms, such as an unhealthy body image obsession, the ... read more

Domestic Violence: Impact of Educational Sabotage

A new study focuses on an overlooked form of psychological abuse -- educational sabotage. Educational sabotage is a form of coercive control that directly affects a survivor's efforts to obtain ... read more

Paid Family Leave Improves Vaccination Rates in Infants

Parents who take paid family leave after the birth of a newborn are more likely to have their child vaccinated on time compared to those who do not, according to new ... read more

Disability Categories in Education Were Redefined to Exclude Minorities, Study Shows

A new study shows how a large school district redefined disability categories to keep minorities out of most supported special ed categories, when forced to integrate. The study also defines practice ... read more

Child Death Rate Linked to Hospital Preparedness for Pediatric Emergencies

Critically ill children brought to hospital emergency departments that are ill-prepared to care for pediatric emergencies have more than three times the odds of dying compared to those brought to ... read more

Children of Incarcerated Parents Have More Substance Abuse, Anxiety

Children of incarcerated parents are six times more likely to develop a substance use disorder in adulthood and nearly twice as likely to have diagnosable anxiety compared to children whose parents ... read more

Texas Cities Increasingly Susceptible to Large Measles Outbreaks

The growing number of children arriving at Texas schools unvaccinated makes the state increasingly vulnerable to measles outbreaks in cities large and small, according to a computer simulation. The ... read more

A Society's Cultural Practices Shape the Structure of Its Social Networks

Biologists used mathematical models to show that societies that favor generalists, who have a wide range of skills, are less well-connected than those societies that favor specialists, who are highly ... read more

Positive Lab Environment Critical for Undergraduate Success in Research, Study Shows

A recent study found that more than half of life sciences students who participated in the study considered leaving their undergraduate research experience. Ultimately, more than half decided to ... read more

Black Students Receive Fewer Warnings from Teachers About Misbehavior

A social work professor found in a new study that black middle school students receive fewer warnings from their teachers about misbehavior, giving them fewer opportunities to correct their behavior ... read more

How Picture Books Introduce Kids to Politics

Researchers have analyzed political messages in some of the most popular picture books of the last several years to see how political topics are introduced to ... read more

Teacher Incentive Programs Can Improve Student Achievement

Teacher incentive pay programs with a hybrid structure involving both individual and group incentives can have good results. Multiple and understandable performance metrics, combined with regular ... read more

Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018