advertisement
World Development News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

With climate change, plants of the future will consume more water than in the present day, leading to less water available ... read more

An India-Pakistan Nuclear War Could Kill Millions, Threaten Global Starvation

A nuclear war between India and Pakistan could, over the span of less than a week, kill 50-125 million people -- more than the death toll during all ... read more

Investments to Address Climate Change Are Good Business

New research suggests that over the next few decades, acting to reduce climate change is expected to cost much less than the damage otherwise inflicted by climate change on people, infrastructure and ... read more

Ancient Civilizations Were Already Messing Up the Planet

As issues like climate change, global warming, and renewable energy dominate the national conversation, it's easy to assume these topics are exclusive to the modern world. But a huge collaborative ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:25am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

What We Can Learn from Indigenous Land Management

First Nations peoples' world view and connection to Country provide a rich source of knowledge and innovations for better land and water management policies when Indigenous decision-making is ... read more

Sinking Groundwater Levels Threaten the Vitality of Riverine Ecosystems

Groundwater is the world's largest source of freshwater and it is of vital importance for food production. Increasing extraction of groundwater in recent decades has resulted in sinking water ... read more

African Child Deaths Could Be Prevented by Improving Environmental Quality and Reducing Population

Children under 5 years of age in Africa are much more likely to die as a direct result of poor health linked to air pollution, unsafe water, lack of sanitation, increased family size, and ... read more

To Address Hunger, Many Countries May Have to Increase Carbon Footprint

Achieving an adequate, healthy diet in most low- and middle-income countries will require a substantial increase in greenhouse gas emissions and water use due to food production, according to new ... read more

Focusing on Key Sustainable Development Goals Would Boost Progress Across All, Analysis Finds

The world could make greater progress towards the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals by prioritizing a subset of the goals rather than pursuing them all equally, a first-of-its-kind ... read more

Beyond Borders: Understanding Migration Requires Understanding Changing Land Systems

For tens of millions of people, migration is a tough reality. What causes people to migrate away from their home countries, and what happens when they do? Migrants and their labor are responsible for ... read more

Nuclear Winter Would Threaten Nearly Everyone on Earth

If the United States and Russia waged an all-out nuclear war, much of the land in the Northern Hemisphere would be below freezing in the summertime, with the growing season slashed by nearly 90 ... read more

Climate Change to Shrink Economies of Rich, Poor, Hot and Cold Countries Alike Unless Paris Agreement Holds

Detrimental economic effects of global warming are likely to go beyond those being discussed in policy circles -- particularly for wealthier nations, say researchers. Study suggests that 7% of global ... read more

How Media Around the World Frame Climate Change News

Researchers analyzed thousands of climate change articles from 45 countries and territories around the world to determine how they frame the issue, and differences were revealed mostly by the wealth ... read more

Shifts to Renewable Energy Can Drive Up Energy Poverty, Study Finds

Efforts to shift away from fossil fuels and replace oil and coal with renewable energy sources can help reduce carbon emissions but do so at the expense of increased inequality, according to a new ... read more

Cycling Success May Hold Key to Free Up Fifth of Agricultural Land

Making minor changes to how food is produced, supplied and consumed around the world could free up around a fifth of agricultural land, research ... read more

Can We Feed 11 Billion People While Preventing the Spread of Infectious Disease?

A new article describes how the increase in population and the need to feed everyone will give rise to human infectious disease, a situation the authors of the paper consider 'two of the most ... read more

'Female Leadership Trust Advantage' Gives Women Edge in Some Crisis Situations

Researchers find that trust established by female leaders practicing strong interpersonal skills results in better crisis resolution when outcomes are ... read more

Undercounting of Agroforestry Skews Climate Change Mitigation Planning and Reporting

Scientists expose the lack of measurement of and reporting on agroforestry in international climate agreements. This has strong implications for accounting for both how much carbon IS being ... read more

Leaving Microbes out of Climate Change Conversation Has Major Consequences, Experts Warn

Leading microbiologists have issued a warning, saying that not including microbes -- the support system of the biosphere -- in the climate change equation will have major negative flow-on ... read more

World's Protected Areas Safeguard Only a Fraction of Wildlife, Analysis Finds

A new analysis shows that the world's protected areas (PAs) are experiencing major shortfalls in staffing and resources and are therefore failing on a massive scale to safeguard ... read more

Weighing Up Trade-Offs Between Food Security and Climate Mitigation

Researchers are clarifying the impacts of stringent climate mitigation policies on food security. The team identified smart and inclusive climate policy designs where the risk of food-security for ... read more

Trade Could Be Key to Balancing Conservation of Freshwater Sources and Food Security

A new study has evaluated whether water for the environment could be prioritized under growing competition from other sectors. The results indicate that this could be achieved by shifting crop ... read more

New Research Shows Community Forest Management Reduces Both Deforestation and Poverty

Giving local communities in Nepal the opportunity to manage their forests has simultaneously reduced deforestation and poverty in the region, new research has shown. In the largest study of its kind, ... read more

Just One-Third of the World's Longest Rivers Remain Free-Flowing

Infrastructure development and other human-made changes have already fragmented or disrupted two-thirds of Earth's longest rivers. Dams and reservoirs are the leading contributors to ... read more

Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Friday, November 24, 2017
Thursday, November 23, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Wednesday, November 1, 2017
Monday, October 30, 2017
Friday, October 27, 2017
Friday, October 20, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Monday, October 9, 2017
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017