advertisement
Astrophysics News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Scientists have discovered why the Sun's magnetic waves strengthen and grow as they emerge from its surface, which could help to solve the mystery of how the corona of the ... read more
Astrophysicists employed massive super-computer simulations to calculate the mechanisms that accelerate charged particles in extreme environments. They concluded their ... read more
Researchers have taken a new and significant step toward detecting a signal from the period in cosmic history when the first stars lit up ... read more
Researchers have observed a gamma-ray burst with an afterglow that featured the highest energy photons -- a trillion times more energetic than visible light -- ever detected ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:49am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Astronomers Discover Most Energetic Gamma-Ray Burst Ever

Gamma-ray bursts are the most energetic phenomenon known to humankind. Although short-lived, they outshine stars and even galactic quasars. They usually display energies in the region of tens of ... read more

Caught in the Act: MeerKAT Telescope Spies Stellar Flare

The MeerKAT radio telescope in the Northern Cape of South Africa has discovered an object which rapidly brightened by more than a factor of three over a period of three weeks. This is the first new ... read more

Outback Telescope Captures Milky Way Center, Discovers Remnants of Dead Stars

A radio telescope in the Western Australian outback has captured a spectacular new view of the center of the galaxy in which we live, the Milky Way. The image from the Murchison Widefield Array (MWA) ... read more

Scientists Find Evidence of Missing Neutron Star

The leftovers from a spectacular supernova that revolutionized our understanding of how stars end their lives have finally been spotted by ... read more

Light-Sensing Camera May Help Detect Extraterrestrial Life, Dark Matter

Researchers have made one of the highest-performance cameras ever composed of sensors that count single photons, or particles of ... read more

How to Observe a 'Black Hole Symphony' Using Gravitational Wave Astronomy

Astrophysicists present a compelling roadmap for capturing intermediate-mass black hole ... read more

Central Mysteries of Solar Physics

Scientists have shed new light on one of the central mysteries of solar physics: how energy from the Sun is transferred to the star's upper atmosphere, heating it to 1 million degrees Fahrenheit ... read more

Spin Doctors: Astrophysicists Find When Galaxies Rotate, Size Matters

The direction in which a galaxy spins depends on its mass, researchers have ... read more

Two Cosmic Peacocks Show Violent History of the Magellanic Clouds

Two peacock-shaped gaseous clouds were revealed in the Large Magellanic Cloud (LMC). A team of astronomers found several massive baby stars in the complex filamentary clouds, which agrees well with ... read more

Space-Based Radar Suggests North Korean Nuke Equivalent to '17 Hiroshimas'

A team of scientists have used satellite data to augment measurements of North Korean nuclear tests on the ground. The researchers find that the most recent test shifted the ground by a few meters, ... read more

'Are We Alone?' Study Refines Which Exoplanets Are Potentially Habitable

Researchers are first to combine 3D climate modeling with atmospheric chemistry to explore the habitability of planets around M dwarf stars, which comprise about 70% of the total galactic ... read more

Mysteries Behind Interstellar Buckyballs Finally Answered

Mimicking conditions thought to exist around dying stars, researchers discovered a mechanism that could explain why planetary nebulae are teeming with complex carbon ... read more

Black Hole Mergers: Cooking With Gas

Gravitational wave detectors are finding black hole mergers in the universe at the rate of one per week. If these mergers occur in empty space, researchers cannot see associated light that is needed ... read more

Could the Mysteries of Antimatter and Dark Matter Be Linked?

Researchers have performed the first laboratory experiments to determine whether a slightly different way in which matter and antimatter interact with dark matter might be a key to solving both ... read more

An astrophysicist has discovered many new multiple star systems that contain exoplanets. For this, he searched more than 1,300 exoplanet host stars. He found that 15 per cent of those stars have at ... read more

A Runaway Star Ejected from the Galactic Heart of Darkness

Astronomers have spotted an ultrafast star, traveling at a blistering 6 million km/h, that was ejected by the supermassive black hole at the heart at the Milky Way five million years ago. The ... read more

Ancient Gas Cloud Reveals Universe's First Stars Formed Quickly

The discovery of a 13 billion-year-old cosmic cloud of gas enabled a team of astronomers to perform the earliest-ever measurement of how the universe was enriched with a diversity of chemical ... read more

'Pac-Man-Like' Mergers Could Explain Massive, Spinning Black Holes

Scientists have reported detecting gravitational waves from 10 black hole mergers to date, but they are still trying to explain the origins of those mergers. The largest merger detected so far seems ... read more

Scientists Further Refine How Quickly the Universe Is Expanding

Scientists have devised a new measurement of the Hubble ... read more

Astronomers using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have observed a galaxy in the distant regions of the Universe which appears duplicated at least 12 times on the night sky. This unique sight, ... read more

Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019