advertisement
Dark Matter News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have observed a galaxy in the distant regions of the Universe which appears duplicated at least 12 times on the night ... read more

Scientists Further Refine How Quickly the Universe Is Expanding

Scientists have devised a new measurement of the Hubble ... read more

2019 Nobel Prize in Physics: Evolution of the Universe and Discovery of Exoplanet Orbiting Solar-Type Star

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded "for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth's place in the ... read more

Are Black Holes Made of Dark Energy?

Researchers have identified and corrected a subtle error that was made when applying Einstein's equations to model the growth of the ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:19am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Maximum Mass of Lightest Neutrino Revealed Using Astronomical Big Data

The mass of the lightest neutrino, an abundant 'ghost' particle found throughout the universe, has been calculated to be at least 6 million times lighter than the mass of an ... read more

Lab-Based Dark Energy Experiment Narrows Search Options for Elusive Force

An experiment to test a popular theory of dark energy has found no evidence of new forces, placing strong constraints on related ... read more

Virtual 'Universe Machine' Sheds Light on Galaxy Evolution

By creating millions of virtual universes and comparing them to observations of actual galaxies, researchers have made discoveries that present a powerful new approach for studying galaxy ... read more

Dark Matter May Be Older Than the Big Bang

Dark matter, which researchers believe make up about 80% of the universe's mass, is one of the most elusive mysteries in modern physics. What exactly it is and how it came to be is a mystery, ... read more

A Long Time Ago, Galaxies Far, Far Away

Astronomers used the combined power of multiple astronomical observatories around the world and in space to discover a treasure-trove of previously unknown ancient massive galaxies. This is the first ... read more

Holes in the Universe Sharpen Cosmic Measurements

Regions of the Universe containing very few or no galaxies -- known as voids -- can help measure cosmic expansion with much greater precision than before, according to new ... read more

Supercomputer Shows 'Chameleon Theory' Could Change How We Think About Gravity

Supercomputer simulations of galaxies have shown that Einstein's theory of General Relativity might not be the only way to explain how gravity works or how galaxies ... read more

Deep-CEE: The AI Deep Learning Tool Helping Astronomers Explore Deep Space

Galaxy clusters are some of the most massive structures in the cosmos, but despite being millions of lightyears across, they can still be hard to spot. Researchers have turned to artificial ... read more

Tracking Down Dark Matter

Over time, scientists have developed different theories to explain exactly what the mysterious dark matter might be made of. Researchers have now found a way of detecting axions with the help of the ... read more

Scientists Weigh the Balance of Matter in Galaxy Clusters

A method of weighing the quantities of matter in galaxy clusters - the largest objects in our universe - has shown a balance between the amounts of hot gas, stars and other ... read more

Measuring the Laws of Nature

One of the fundamental physical constants, the 'weak axial vector coupling constant' (gA), has now been measured with very high precision for the first time. It is needed to explain nuclear ... read more

Algorithm Designed to Map Universe, Solve Mysteries

Researchers have developed an algorithm designed to visualize models of the universe in order to solve some of physics' greatest ... read more

Crash With Antlia 2 Gave the Milky Way the Ripples in Its Outer Disc, New Evidence Shows

The newly-discovered dark dwarf galaxy Antlia 2's collision with the Milky Way may be responsible for our galaxy's characteristic ripples in its outer disc, according to a new ... read more

A New Candidate for Dark Matter and a Way to Detect It

Two theoretical physicists have a new candidate for dark matter and a possible way to detect ... read more

What If Dark Matter Is Lighter? Report Calls for Small Experiments to Broaden the Hunt

Theorized dark matter particles haven't yet shown up where scientists had expected them. So researchers are now designing new and nimble experiments that can look for dark matter in previously ... read more

The Mystery of the Galaxy With No Dark Matter

Researchers have clarified one of the mysteries of 2018 in the field of extragalactic astrophysics: the supposed existence of a galaxy without dark ... read more

Subaru Telescope Captures 1800 Exploding Stars

The Subaru Telescope has captured images of more than 1800 exploding stars in the Universe, some located 8 billion light years from ... read more

Training a Neural Network to Study Dark Matter

A research group is using a deep learning method known as generative adversarial networks to enhance the use of gravitational lensing in the study of dark ... read more

A New Filter to Better Map the Dark Universe

To address messy measurements of the cosmic web that connects matter in the universe, researchers developed a way to improve the accuracy and clarity of these measurements based on the stretching of ... read more

Origin of Photons in Mysterious Gamma-Ray Bursts

Scientists have used simulations to show that the photons emitted by long gamma-ray bursts -- one of the most energetic events to take place in the universe -- originate in the photosphere -- the ... read more

Thursday, August 22, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Friday, April 6, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Friday, March 2, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Monday, February 19, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Monday, December 18, 2017
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017