advertisement
Extrasolar Planets News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers using the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) have found striking orbital geometries in protoplanetary disks around binary stars. While disks ... read more
Researchers have observed an extreme planet where they suspect it rains iron. The ultra-hot giant exoplanet has a day side where temperatures climb above 2400 degrees ... read more

Astronomy Student Discovers 17 New Planets, Including Earth-Sized World

An astronomy student has discovered 17 new planets, including a potentially habitable, Earth-sized world, by combing through data gathered by NASA's Kepler ... read more
Astronomers have found an exoplanet more than twice the size of Earth to be potentially habitable, opening the search for life to planets significantly larger than Earth but ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:49am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Scientists Pioneer New Way to Study Exoplanets

A team of scientists using the Low Frequency Array radio telescope in the Netherlands has observed radio waves that carry the distinct signatures of aurorae, caused by the interaction between a ... read more

Distant Giant Planets Form Differently Than 'Failed Stars'

Astronomers have probed the formation process of giant exoplanets and brown dwarfs by using a combination of direct imaging of these objects and custom software to model their ... read more

'Cold Neptune' and Two Temperate Super-Earths Found Orbiting Nearby Stars

A 'cold Neptune' and two potentially habitable worlds are part of a cache of five newly discovered exoplanets and eight exoplanet candidates found orbiting nearby red dwarf stars. The two ... read more

How the Solar System Got Its 'Great Divide,' and Why It Matters for Life on Earth

Scientists have finally scaled the solar system's equivalent of the Rocky Mountain ... read more

Planet WASP-12b Is on a Death Spiral, Say Scientists

Astrophysicists have shown that exoplanet WASP-12b, located 600 light-years away, is spiraling in toward certain destruction in about 3 million ... read more

NASA's TESS Mission Uncovers Its First World With Two Stars

NASA's Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite has found its first circumbinary planet, a world orbiting two stars. Called TOI 1338 b, the planet lies 1,300 light-years away and is 6.9 times ... read more

NASA Planet Hunter Finds Earth-Size Habitable-Zone World

NASA's Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) has discovered its first Earth-size planet in its star's habitable zone, the range of distances where conditions may be just right to ... read more

Scientists Develop New Method to Detect Oxygen on Exoplanets

Scientists have developed a new method for detecting oxygen in exoplanet atmospheres that may accelerate the search for life. The new technique detects the signal that oxygen molecules produce when ... read more

Massive Gas Disk Raises Questions About Planet Formation Theory

Astronomers using the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) found a young star surrounded by an astonishing mass of gas. The star, called 49 Ceti, is 40 million years old and ... read more

Exoplanets Can Be Made Less Habitable by Stars' Flares

Astronomers found that not all exoplanets in habitable zones will be able to maintain hospitable conditions for life. Exoplanets in close proximity to stars are subject to radiation bursts which can ... read more

Planet-Mass Objects in Extragalactic Systems

A research group is reporting the detection of extragalactic planet-mass objects in a second and third galaxy beyond the Milky Way after the first detection in 2018. With the existing observational ... read more

Water Common -- Yet Scarce -- In Exoplanets

The most extensive survey of atmospheric chemical compositions of exoplanets to date has revealed trends that challenge current theories of planet formation and has implications for the search for ... read more

Signs of Life: New Field Guide Aids Astronomers' Search

A senior has come up with a way to discern life on exoplanets loitering in other cosmic neighborhoods: a spectral field ... read more

Hidden Giant Planet Revealed Around Tiny White Dwarf Star

The first evidence of a giant planet orbiting a dead white dwarf star has been found in the form of a disc of gas formed from its evaporating ... read more

Gas Giant Composition Not Determined by Host Star

A surprising analysis of the composition of gas giant exoplanets and their host stars shows that there isn't a strong correlation between their compositions when it comes to elements heavier ... read more

Bizarre Worlds Orbiting a Black Hole?

Theoreticians in two different fields defied the common knowledge that planets orbit stars like the Sun. They proposed the possibility of thousands of planets around a supermassive black ... read more

NASA's TESS Helps Astronomers Study Red-Giant Stars, Examine a Too-Close Planet

Astronomers have been studying two red-giant stars -- older, 'retired' stars no longer burning hydrogen in their cores. The study details an interesting case of planetary evolution and ... read more

'Are We Alone?' Study Refines Which Exoplanets Are Potentially Habitable

Researchers are first to combine 3D climate modeling with atmospheric chemistry to explore the habitability of planets around M dwarf stars, which comprise about 70% of the total galactic ... read more

Distant Worlds Under Many Suns

An astrophysicist has discovered many new multiple star systems that contain exoplanets. For this, he searched more than 1,300 exoplanet host stars. He found that 15 per cent of those stars have at ... read more

Views of Giant Planet in Wild Orbit Would Be Unparalleled

Contrary to previous thought, a gigantic planet in wild orbit does not preclude the presence of an Earth-like planet in the same solar system -- or life on that planet. What's more, the view ... read more

Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019