advertisement
Solar Flare News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Since its 2018 launch, NASA's Parker Solar Probe (record-holder for closest-ever spacecraft to the Sun) has finished three of 24 planned passes through never-before-explored ... read more
Scientists have discovered why the Sun's magnetic waves strengthen and grow as they emerge from its surface, which could help to solve the mystery of how the corona of the ... read more
An astrophysicist has discovered many new multiple star systems that contain exoplanets. For this, he searched more than 1,300 exoplanet host stars. He found that 15 per cent ... read more

Plasma Flow Near Sun's Surface Explains Sunspots, Other Solar Phenomena

A new model for plasma flow within the sun provides novel explanations for sunspots, the 11-year sunspot cycle, solar magnetic reversals and other previously unexplained solar ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:50am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Sun Corona in Unprecedented Clarity

Early returns from the US Naval Research Laboratory's camera on NASA's latest mission to study the Sun's corona revealed on Dec. 4 a star more complex than ever ... read more

Magnetic Plasma Pulses Excited by UK-Size Swirls in the Solar Atmosphere

Scientists have discovered previously undetected observational evidence of frequent energetic wave pulses the size of the UK, transporting energy from the solar surface to the higher solar ... read more

Scientists Reproduce the Dynamics Behind Astrophysical Shocks

Article describes first laboratory measurement of the precursors to high-energy astronomical ... read more

Sun's Solar Wind and Plasma 'Burps' Created on Earth

A new study by physicists mimicked solar winds in the lab, confirming how they develop and providing an Earth-bound model for the future study of solar ... read more

'Terminators' on the Sun Trigger Plasma Tsunamis and the Start of New Solar Cycles

In a pair of new papers, scientists paint a picture of how solar cycles suddenly die, potentially causing tsunamis of plasma to race through the Sun's interior and trigger the birth of the next ... read more

Citizen Scientists Discover Cyclical Pattern of Complexity in Solar Storms

Citizen scientists have discovered that solar storms become more complex as the sun's 11-year activity cycle reaches its maximum -- a finding which could help forecasters predict which space ... read more

Sun's History Found Buried in Moon's Crust

The Sun's rotation rate in its first billion years is unknown. Yet, this spin rate affected solar eruptions, influencing the evolution of life. Scientists think they've figured it out by ... read more

Rare 'Superflares' Could One Day Threaten Earth

New research shows that the sun could experience a massive burst of energy called a superflare sometime in the next several thousand ... read more

The Sun May Have a Dual Personality, Simulations Suggest

A deep dive into the sun's interior provides new clues to the forces that govern that star's internal ... read more

Solving the Sun's Super-Heating Mystery With Parker Solar Probe

It's one of the greatest and longest-running mysteries surrounding, quite literally, our sun: Why is its outer atmosphere hotter than its fiery ... read more

Matter Around a Young Star Helps Astronomers Explore Our Stellar History

Astronomers have mapped the substance aluminum monoxide in a cloud around a distant young star -- Origin Source I. The finding clarifies some important details about how our solar system, and ... read more

Explosion on Jupiter-Sized Star 10 Times More Powerful Than Ever Seen on Our Sun

A stellar flare 10 times more powerful than anything seen on our Sun has burst from an ultracool star almost the same size as ... read more

CubeSats Prove Their Worth for Scientific Missions

Only a few years ago, the astronomy and heliophysics communities were skeptical about whether CubeSats could reliably obtain scientific data. But these breadloaf-size satellites have proven their ... read more

New Model Accurately Predicts Harmful Space Weather

A new, first-of-its-kind space weather model reliably predicts space storms of high-energy particles that are harmful to many satellites and spacecraft orbiting in the Earth's outer radiation ... read more

Unexpected Coronal Rain on Sun Links Two Solar Mysteries

Researchers find coronal rain on the sun in an unexpected place. The findings could create a new link between two of the biggest mysteries in solar ... read more

ALMA Observes the Formation Sites of Solar-System-Like Planets

Researchers have spotted the formation sites of planets around a young star resembling our sun. Two rings of dust around the star, at distances comparable to the asteroid belt and the orbit of ... read more

Probability of Catastrophic Geomagnetic Storm Lower Than Estimated

According to a group of mathematics researchers, the probability in the following decade of the sun causing a storm strong enough to affect electrical and communication infrastructures around the ... read more

Researchers Uncover Additional Evidence for Massive Solar Storms

Solar storms can be far more powerful than previously thought. A new study has found evidence for the third known case of a massive solar storm in historical times. The researchers believe that ... read more

Ingredients for Water Could Be Made on Surface of Moon, a Chemical Factory

When a stream of charged particles known as the solar wind careens onto the moon's surface at 450 kilometers per second (or nearly 1 million miles per hour), they enrich the moon's surface ... read more

Solar Tadpole-Like Jets Seen With NASA'S IRIS Add New Clue to Age-Old Mystery

Scientists have discovered tadpole-shaped jets coming out of the Sun that may help explain why the corona (the wispy upper atmosphere of our star) is so inexplicably ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Friday, March 9, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Monday, February 26, 2018
Friday, February 23, 2018
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Friday, January 5, 2018
Saturday, December 23, 2017
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Friday, November 17, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Wednesday, November 1, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Friday, October 13, 2017
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Monday, October 2, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Friday, September 22, 2017
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Friday, August 18, 2017
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Wednesday, August 16, 2017