advertisement
Solar System News
December 9, 2019

Top Headlines
 

The first evidence of a giant planet orbiting a dead white dwarf star has been found in the form of a disc of gas formed from its ... read more
An astrophysicist has discovered many new multiple star systems that contain exoplanets. For this, he searched more than 1,300 exoplanet host stars. He found that 15 per cent ... read more

With Mars Methane Mystery Unsolved, Curiosity Serves Scientists a New One: Oxygen

For the first time in the history of space exploration, scientists have measured the seasonal changes in the gases that fill the air directly above ... read more
Astronomers using ESO's SPHERE instrument at the Very Large Telescope (VLT) have revealed that the asteroid Hygiea could be ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:20am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Sun Corona in Unprecedented Clarity

Early returns from the US Naval Research Laboratory's camera on NASA's latest mission to study the Sun's corona revealed on Dec. 4 a star more complex than ever ... read more

Origin and Chemical Makeup of Saturn's Moon Titan's Dunes

Astronomers exposed acetylene ice -- a chemical that is used on Earth in welding torches and exists at Titan's equatorial regions -- at low temperatures to proxies of high-energy galactic cosmic ... read more

Earth-like planets may be common in the universe, a new study implies. The team of astrophysicists and geochemists presents new evidence that the Earth is not ... read more

Hubble has given astronomers their best look yet at an interstellar visitor -- comet 2I/Borisov -- whose speed and trajectory indicate it has come from beyond our solar system. Comet 2I/Borisov is ... read more

Soil on Moon and Mars Likely to Support Crops

Researchers have produced crops in Mars and moon soil simulant developed by NASA. The research supports the idea that it would not only be possible to grow food on Mars and the moon to feed future ... read more

Ice on Lunar South Pole May Have More Than One Source

New research sheds light on the ages of ice deposits reported in the area of the Moon's south pole -- information that could help identify the sources of the deposits and help in planning future ... read more

Liquifying a Rocky Exoplanet

A hot, molten Earth would be around 5% larger than its solid counterpart. The difference between molten and solid rocky planets is important for the search of Earth-like worlds beyond our Solar ... read more

Pressure Runs High at Edge of Solar System

Out at the boundary of our solar system, pressure runs high. This pressure, the force plasma, magnetic fields and particles like ions, cosmic rays and electrons exert on one another when they flow ... read more

Saturn Surpasses Jupiter After the Discovery of 20 New Moons

Move over Jupiter; Saturn is the new moon king. A team has found 20 new moons orbiting Saturn. This brings the ringed planet's total number of moons to 82, surpassing Jupiter, which has ... read more

NASA's Curiosity Rover Finds an Ancient Oasis on Mars

If you could travel back in time 3.5 billion years, what would Mars look like? The picture is evolving among scientists working with NASA's Curiosity ... read more

Many Gas Giant Exoplanets Waiting to Be Discovered

There is an as-yet-unseen population of Jupiter-like planets orbiting nearby Sun-like stars, awaiting discovery by future missions like NASA's WFIRST space telescope, according to new models of ... read more

Could We Feed One Million People Living on Mars?

A provocative new study looks at the resource utilization and technological strategies that would be needed to make a Mars population of one million people food ... read more

Saturn's Icy Rings Are as Old as the Solar System Itself, Study Suggests

No one knows for certain when Saturn's iconic rings formed, but a new study suggests that they are much older than some scientists ... read more

Newly Discovered Comet Is Likely Interstellar Visitor

A newly discovered comet has excited the astronomical community this week because it appears to have originated from outside the solar system. The official confirmation that comet C/2019 Q4 is an ... read more

Saturn's Rings Shine in Hubble's Latest Portrait

Saturn is so beautiful that astronomers cannot resist using the Hubble Space Telescope to take yearly snapshots of the ringed world when it is at its closest distance to Earth. These images, however, ... read more

A Goldilocks Zone for Planet Size

Researchers have described a new, lower size limit for planets to maintain surface liquid water for long periods of time, extending the so-called Habitable or 'Goldilocks'' Zone for ... read more

Lakes on Saturn's Moon Titan Are Explosion Craters, New Models Suggest

Data from NASA's Cassini spacecraft may help explain why some methane-filled lakes on Saturn's moon Titan are surrounded by steep rims that reach hundreds of feet high. The models suggests ... read more

Hints of a Volcanically Active Exo-Moon

A rocky extrasolar moon (exomoon) with bubbling lava may orbit a planet 550 light-years away from us. This is suggested by an international team of researchers on the basis of theoretical predictions ... read more

Newly Discovered Giant Planet Slingshots Around Its Star

Astronomers have discovered a planet three times the mass of Jupiter that travels on a long, egg-shaped path around its star. If this planet were somehow placed into our own solar system, it would ... read more

Mission to Jupiter's Icy Moon Confirmed

An icy ocean world in our solar system that could tell us more about the potential for life on other worlds is coming into focus with confirmation of the Europa Clipper mission's next ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019