advertisement
Space Station News
January 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Hubble Observes First Confirmed Interstellar Comet

Hubble has given astronomers their best look yet at an interstellar visitor -- comet 2I/Borisov -- whose speed and trajectory indicate it has come from beyond our solar system. Comet 2I/Borisov is ... read more

Moon Glows Brighter Than Sun in Images from NASA's Fermi

If our eyes could see gamma rays, the Moon would appear brighter than the Sun! That's how NASA's Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope has seen our neighbor in space for the past ... read more

How Deep Space Travel Could Affect the Brain

Exposure to chronic, low dose radiation -- the conditions present in deep space -- causes neural and behavioral impairments in mice, researchers report. These results highlight the pressing need to ... read more

Red Wine's Resveratrol Could Help Mars Explorers Stay Strong

Mars is about 9 months from Earth with today's tech, NASA reckons. As the new space race hurtles forward, researchers are asking: how do we make sure the winners can still stand when they reach the ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 2:50am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Ultimate Telemedicine: Expert Helps Treat Astronaut's Blood Clot During NASA Mission

An astronaut aboard the ISS had a deep vein thrombosis (DVT) -- or blood clot -- in the jugular vein of the neck and had it treated while on the ... read more

Human Heart Cells Are Altered by Spaceflight, but Return to (Mostly) Normal on Earth

Heart muscle cells derived from stem cells show remarkable adaptability to their environment during and after spaceflight, according to a new study. The researchers examined cell-level cardiac ... read more

Study Underscores Changes in Brain Structure, Function in Long-Duration Space Missions

New study demonstrates for the first time that changes in cognitive performance correlate with changes in brain structure in NASA astronauts following ... read more

No Defects Found in Reproductive Ability of Male Mice Returning from Short Stay in Space

Male mice raised in space using specially developed cages were returned safely to Earth. The sperm production/fertilizing ability of the mice were normal and the reproduction ability of the offspring ... read more

Pressure Runs High at Edge of Solar System

Out at the boundary of our solar system, pressure runs high. This pressure, the force plasma, magnetic fields and particles like ions, cosmic rays and electrons exert on one another when they flow ... read more

Could We Feed One Million People Living on Mars?

A provocative new study looks at the resource utilization and technological strategies that would be needed to make a Mars population of one million people food ... read more

Tripling Shelf Life of Macaroni and Cheese

Scientists have developed a way to triple the shelf life of ready-to-eat macaroni and cheese, a development that could have benefits for everything from space travel to military ... read more

Laser Prototype for Space-Based Gravitational Wave Detector

Researchers have announced a prototype for a laser at the heart of the first space-based gravitational wave observatory, known as the Laser Interferometer Space Antenna (LISA) ... read more

Innovative Model Created for NASA to Predict Vitamin Levels in Spaceflight Food

Food scientists have developed a groundbreaking, user-friendly mathematical model for NASA to help ensure that astronauts' food remains rich in nutrients during extended missions in ... read more

The Dark Side of Extrasolar Planets Share Surprisingly Similar Temperatures

A new study by astronomers has found that the temperature on the nightsides of different hot Jupiters -- planets that are similar size in to Jupiter, but orbit other stars -- is surprisingly uniform, ... read more

Spaceflight Consistently Affects the Gut

A new study discovered that spaceflight -- both aboard a space shuttle or the International Space Station (ISS) -- has a consistent effect on the gut ... read more

Gravity Changes Mass of Muscles and Bones, Experiments in Space Show

Researchers have found that bone and muscle mass are regulated by the altered gravity. The experiments were done in space using Kibo, an ISS module developed by JAXA, and on the ... read more

Harnessing the Power of Microbes for Mining in Space

A new investigation on the International Space Station represents the first study of how microbes grow on and alter planetary rocks in microgravity and simulated Martian ... read more

Astronauts Less Likely to Faint on Earth If They Exercise in Space; Findings May Help Others With Fainting Issues

Up to two hours of endurance and resistance exercises daily during a long space flight mission, combined with IV fluid replacement after landing, helps astronauts prevent dizziness and fainting ... read more

Collision Course: Amateur Astronomers Play a Part in Efforts to Keep Space Safe

Heavy traffic is commonplace on Earth but now congestion is becoming an increasing problem in space. With over 22,000 artificial satellites in orbit it is essential to keep track of their positions ... read more

Atmosphere of Midsize Planet Revealed by Hubble, Spitzer

Two NASA space telescopes have identified the detailed chemical 'fingerprint' of a planet between the sizes of Earth and Neptune. No planets like this can be found in our own solar system, ... read more

Space Station Mold Survives High Doses of Ionizing Radiation

The International Space Station, like all human habitats in space, has a nagging mold problem. Astronauts on the ISS spend hours every week cleaning the inside of the station's walls to prevent ... read more

Frozen Sperm Retains Its Viability in Outer Space Conditions

Those who see the 'colonization' of space as an answer to the Earth's ever threatened resources will be reassured to learn that human sperm retains its complete viability within the ... read more

Researchers Learned How to Better Combat Muscle Loss During Space Flights

A new study has further documented how muscles are affected by reduced gravity conditions during space flight missions and uncovered how exercise and hormone treatments can be tailored to minimize ... read more

How Acids Behave in Ultracold Interstellar Space

Researchers have investigated how acids interact with water molecules at extremely low temperatures. Using spectroscopic analyses and computer simulations, they investigated the question of whether ... read more

Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018