advertisement
Sun News
December 11, 2019

Top Headlines
 

The first evidence of a giant planet orbiting a dead white dwarf star has been found in the form of a disc of gas formed from its ... read more
Since its 2018 launch, NASA's Parker Solar Probe (record-holder for closest-ever spacecraft to the Sun) has finished three of 24 planned passes through never-before-explored ... read more
Scientists have discovered why the Sun's magnetic waves strengthen and grow as they emerge from its surface, which could help to solve the mystery of how the corona of the ... read more
Astrophysicists employed massive super-computer simulations to calculate the mechanisms that accelerate charged particles in extreme environments. They concluded their ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:50am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Sun Corona in Unprecedented Clarity

Early returns from the US Naval Research Laboratory's camera on NASA's latest mission to study the Sun's corona revealed on Dec. 4 a star more complex than ever ... read more

Researchers report the spacecraft Voyager 2 has reached interstellar space, following Voyager 1's historic passage six years ago. In the study, the researchers note a jump in plasma density ... read more

Even 'Goldilocks' Exoplanets Need a Well-Behaved Star

Scientists model how the 'weather' on a star impacts exoplanets to see if even those thought to be in habitable zones could suffer from solar storms. They expect their work to help narrow ... read more

Simulations Explain Giant Exoplanets With Eccentric, Close-in Orbits

As planetary systems evolve, gravitational interactions between planets can fling some of them into eccentric elliptical orbits around the host star. Smaller planets should be more susceptible to ... read more

Astronomers using ESO's SPHERE instrument at the Very Large Telescope (VLT) have revealed that the asteroid Hygiea could be classified as a dwarf planet. The object is the fourth largest in the ... read more

An Overlooked Piece of the Solar Dynamo Puzzle

A previously unobserved mechanism is at work in the Sun's rotating plasma: a magnetic instability, which scientists had thought was physically impossible under these conditions. The effect might ... read more

Mix Master: Modeling Magnetic Reconnection in Partially Ionized Plasma

Many of the most dramatic events in the solar system -- the spectacle of the Northern Lights, the explosiveness of solar flares, and the destructive impact of geomagnetic storms that can disrupt ... read more

A Star Is Born: Using Lasers to Study How Star Stuff Is Made

On a typical day at the world's biggest laser you can find scientists casually making star-like conditions using 192 high-powered lasers. Stars in the universe are formed through a process ... read more

Making Connections: Bringing Astrophysical Processes Down to Earth

Magnetic reconnection, a process in which magnetic field lines tear and come back together, releasing large amounts of kinetic energy, occurs throughout the universe. The process gives rise to ... read more

Earth-like planets may be common in the universe, a new study implies. The team of astrophysicists and geochemists presents new evidence that the Earth is not ... read more

Hubble has given astronomers their best look yet at an interstellar visitor -- comet 2I/Borisov -- whose speed and trajectory indicate it has come from beyond our solar system. Comet 2I/Borisov is ... read more

Surveying Solar Storms by Ancient Assyrian Astronomers

Researcher finds evidence of ancient solar magnetic storms based on cuneiform astrological records and carbon-14 dating. This work may help with our understanding of intense solar activity that can ... read more

Liquifying a Rocky Exoplanet

A hot, molten Earth would be around 5% larger than its solid counterpart. The difference between molten and solid rocky planets is important for the search of Earth-like worlds beyond our Solar ... read more

Pressure Runs High at Edge of Solar System

Out at the boundary of our solar system, pressure runs high. This pressure, the force plasma, magnetic fields and particles like ions, cosmic rays and electrons exert on one another when they flow ... read more

2019 Nobel Prize in Physics: Evolution of the Universe and Discovery of Exoplanet Orbiting Solar-Type Star

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded "for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth's place in the cosmos," with one half to ... read more

Deep Learning Used to Create Virtual 'Super Instrument'

Scientist describe a new algorithm that combines the capabilities of two spacecraft instruments, which could result in lower cost and higher efficiency space missions. The virtual 'super ... read more

Many Gas Giant Exoplanets Waiting to Be Discovered

There is an as-yet-unseen population of Jupiter-like planets orbiting nearby Sun-like stars, awaiting discovery by future missions like NASA's WFIRST space telescope, according to new models of ... read more

Naming of New Interstellar Visitor: 2I/Borisov

A new object from interstellar space has been found within the Solar System, only the second such discovery of its kind. Astronomers are turning their telescopes towards the visitor, which offers a ... read more

Plasma Flow Near Sun's Surface Explains Sunspots, Other Solar Phenomena

A new model for plasma flow within the sun provides novel explanations for sunspots, the 11-year sunspot cycle, solar magnetic reversals and other previously unexplained solar ... read more

New Observations Help Explain the Dimming of Tabby's Star

The overall brightness of Tabby's Star has been gradually dimming for years. A new study suggests chunks of an exomoon's dusty outer layers of ice, gas and carbonaceous rock may be ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019