advertisement
Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
January 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have harnessed the power of a type of artificial intelligence known as deep learning to create a new laser-based system that can image around corners in real ... read more
Scientists repurposed living frog cells -- and assembled them into entirely new life-forms. These tiny 'xenobots' can move toward a target and heal themselves after being ... read more
For the first time, scientists have created a silicon chip that can accelerate electrons -- albeit at a fraction of the velocity of the most massive accelerators -- using an ... read more
A surprising new study shows that heat energy can leap across a few hundred nanometers of a complete vacuum, thanks to a quantum mechanical phenomenon called the Casimir ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:08pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

The Way You Dance Is Unique, and Computers Can Tell It's You

Nearly everyone responds to music with movement, whether through subtle toe-tapping or an all-out boogie. A recent discovery shows that our dance style is almost always the same, regardless of the ... read more

How Sensitive Can a Quantum Detector Be?

Measuring the energy of quantum states requires detecting energy changes so exceptionally small they are hard to pick out from background fluctuations, like using only a thermometer to try and work ... read more

AlphaZero Learns to Rule the Quantum World

The chess world was amazed when the computer algorithm AlphaZero learned, after just four hours on its own, to beat the best chess programs built on human expertise. Now a research group has used the ... read more

Mathematicians Put Famous Battle of Britain 'What If' Scenarios to the Test

Mathematicians have developed a new model to explore what the impact of changes to Luftwaffe tactics would actually have been. Their approach uses statistical modelling to calculate how the Battle ... read more

Indeterminist Physics for an Open World

Classical physics is characterized by the equations describing the world. Yet our day-to-day experience is struck by this deterministic vision of the world. A physicist has been analyzing the ... read more

In Leap for Quantum Computing, Silicon Quantum Bits Establish a Long-Distance Relationship

In an important step forward in the quest to build a quantum computer using silicon-based hardware, researchers have succeeded in making possible the exchange of information between two qubits ... read more

The Coolest LEGO ® in the Universe

For the first time, LEGO ® has been cooled to the lowest temperature possible in an experiment which reveals a new use for the popular toy -- the development of quantum computing. A figure and four ... read more

Researchers Directly Measure 'Cheerios Effect' Forces for the First Time

In a finding that could be useful in designing small aquatic robots, researchers have measured the forces that cause small objects to cluster together on the surface of a liquid -- a phenomenon known ... read more

Scientists Discover First Antiferromagnetic Topological Quantum Material

Scientists have discovered a new type of bulk quantum material with intrinsically magnetic and topological properties. The new material is called manganese-bismuth telluride (MnBi2Te4) and is ... read more

Topological Materials for Information Technology Offer Lossless Transmission of Signals

New experiments with magnetically doped topological insulators at BESSY II have revealed possible ways of lossless signal transmission that involve a surprising self-organizational phenomenon. In the ... read more

A Soft Robotic Insect That Survives Being Flattened by a Fly Swatter

Researchers have developed an ultra-light robotic insect that uses its soft artificial muscles to move at 3 cm per second across different types of terrain. It can be folded or crushed and yet ... read more

Robots Made from Self-Folding Kirigami Materials

Researchers have demonstrated how kirigami-inspired techniques allow them to design thin sheets of material that automatically reconfigure into new two-dimensional (2D) shapes and three-dimensional ... read more

Smart Intersections Could Cut Autonomous Car Congestion

Researchers have developed a first-of-its-kind model to control traffic and intersections in order to increase autonomous car capacity on urban streets of the future, reduce congestion and minimize ... read more

Azteca Ant Colonies Move the Same Way Leopards' Spots Form

What could Azteca ants in coffee farms in Mexico have in common with leopards' spots and zebras' ... read more

Physicists Image Electrons Flowing Like Water

Physicists have imaged electrons flowing viscously through a nanodevice, just like water flowing through a pipe. Long predicted but only now visualized for the first time, this curious new behavior ... read more

Communications Device Offers Huge Bandwidth Potential

Several countries are building futuristic communication systems using higher frequency electromagnetic waves to transfer more data at faster rates, but they have lacked network components to handle ... read more

Insects' Drag-Based Flight Mechanism Could Improve Tiny Flying Robots

Thrips don't rely on lift in order to fly. Instead, the tiny insects rely on a drag-based flight mechanism, staying afloat in airflow velocities with a large ratio of force to wing size. ... read more

How to Induce Magnetism in Graphene

Graphene, a two-dimensional structure made of carbon, is a material with excellent mechanical, electronic and optical properties. However, it did not seem suitable for magnetic applications. ... read more

Researchers have discovered a new method for turning nearly any object into a data storage unit. This makes it possible to save extensive data in, say, shirt buttons, water bottles or even the lenses ... read more

Gamma-Ray Laser Moves a Step Closer to Reality

A physicist has performed calculations showing hollow spherical bubbles filled with a gas of positronium atoms are stable in liquid helium. The calculations take scientists a step closer to realizing ... read more

Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019