advertisement
Human Quirks News
January 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists have invented a nanoparticle that eats away -- from the inside out -- portions of plaques that cause ... read more
Scientists have identified synergistic cellular pathways for longevity that amplify lifespan fivefold in C. elegans, a nematode worm used as a model in aging research. The ... read more
The results of a new canine numerosity study suggests that a common neural mechanism has been deeply conserved across ... read more
Researchers have succeeded in extracting a complete human genome from a thousands-of-years old 'chewing gum.' According to the researchers, it is a new untapped source of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 1:08am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Scientists Capture for First Time, Light Flashes from Human Eye During Radiotherapy

People have long reported seeing flashes of light during brain radiotherapy. Until now, no one has been able to capture evidence of this sensation in humans, and only theory, models, and speculation ... read more

Ultimate Telemedicine: Expert Helps Treat Astronaut's Blood Clot During NASA Mission

An astronaut aboard the ISS had a deep vein thrombosis (DVT) -- or blood clot -- in the jugular vein of the neck and had it treated while on the ... read more

Mouse Pups Born from Eggs Derived from the Granulosa Cells That Surround Oocytes

By introducing a chemical cocktail to granulosa cells, researchers induced the cells to transform into functional oocytes in mice. Once fertilized, these oocytes were then successfully able to ... read more

New CRISPR-Based System Targets Amplified Antibiotic-Resistant Genes

A research team at has developed a new CRISPR-based gene-drive system that dramatically increases the efficiency of inactivating a gene rendering bacteria antibiotic-resistant. The new system ... read more

Synthetic Nanopores Made from DNA

A scientific collaboration has resulted in the construction of a synthetic DNA nanopore capable of selectively translocating protein-size macromolecules across lipid ... read more

Using a brain-computer interface, a team of researchers has reconstructed English words from the brain activity of rhesus macaques that listened as the words were ... read more

Motorized molecules activated by light target and drill through highly antibiotic resistant bacteria and kill them within minutes. The molecules can open bacteria to attack by drugs they previously ... read more

Despite being four times thicker than human hair, elephant hair is only half as strong -- that's just one finding from researchers studying the hair strength of many different mammals. Their ... read more

Altering Intestinal Microbiota, Vaccinating Against Inflammatory Diseases

Targeted immunization against bacterial flagellin, a protein that forms the appendage that enables bacterial mobility, can beneficially alter the intestinal microbiota, decreasing the bacteria's ... read more

Print Me an Organ: Why Are We Not There Yet?

A new review looks at the likelihood of 3D printed organs and analyzes recent accomplishments, limitations and opportunities for future ... read more

How Playing the Drums Changes the Brain

People who play drums regularly for years differ from unmusical people in their brain structure and function. The results of a new study suggest that they have fewer, but thicker fibers in the main ... read more

A crab's nervous system could help scientists learn what causes single neurons in the human brain to become 'out of whack,' which can contribute to the development of neurological ... read more

What Is a Scream? The Acoustics of a Primal Human Call

Listeners show strong agreement for parameters of a scream, including a higher pitch, roughness and a higher peak ... read more

New research reveals how a week in the dark rewires brain cell networks and changes hearing sensitivity in adult mice long after the optimal window for auditory learning has passed. With further ... read more

Scientists Create 'Epigenetic Couch Potato' Mouse

A study in mice shows for the first time that epigenetics -- the molecular mechanisms that determine which genes are turned on or off -- plays a key role in determining an individual's innate ... read more

Scientists Push Bioprinting Capability Forward

Scientists are reporting using bioprinting to print a tracheal tissue construct comprising of multiple different functional materials. They printed different designs of smooth muscle and cartilage ... read more

Facial Deformity in Royal Dynasty Was Linked to Inbreeding, Scientists Confirm

The 'Habsburg jaw,' a facial condition of the Habsburg dynasty of Spanish and Austrian kings and their wives, can be attributed to inbreeding, according to new ... read more

New Device Enables Battery-Free Computer Input at the Tip of Your Finger

Computer scientists have created a device for wearable computer input suitable for many situations, just by touching your fingertips together in different ways. The device, called Tip-Tap, is ... read more

Fighting Fruit Flies: Aggressive Behavior Influenced by Previous Interactions

Aggression doesn't just depend on who you are or who you're interacting with but also depends on your previous interactions, a new fruit fly study has ... read more

Why Do We Freeze When Startled? New Study in Flies Points to Serotonin

A study in fruit flies has identified serotonin as a chemical that triggers the body's startle response, the automatic deer-in-the-headlights reflex that freezes the body momentarily in response ... read more

Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019